, ,

Juice Cleanse: Review

You might have already figured out if you follow my Instagram, I already started eating on the third day. I’ll be honest. It’s hard to resist when your friends call or text and want to meet up over dinner. So I walked into the restaurant thinking, “It’s okay. I’ll just watch them eat.” Of course,…


You might have already figured out if you follow my Instagram, I already started eating on the third day. I’ll be honest. It’s hard to resist when your friends call or text and want to meet up over dinner. So I walked into the restaurant thinking, “It’s okay. I’ll just watch them eat.” Of course, this never happened. The minute the chips and guacamole came, I started getting my fill of chips and guac. On that note, food post coming up next on Red O.

At the end of this “Juice Cleanse Week,” I came to realize that a full-on seven-day juice cleanse is not for me. I know a lot of people have done it and feel great afterward, that wasn’t the case for me. I felt much better after I started eating some regular meals while substituting one meal a day with a juice. This is something that I want to continue because I do feel better not eating lunch, for example, and just drinking a glass of juice. Since I was anemic and suffered from malnutrition in the past, drinking the juice will help me absorb the nutrients that I need.

For those who are interested, including my friend Eva, here are some juice recipes you can try at home:

1. Easy Citrus:
Orange
Lemon
Apple
Celery
Lime

2. The Vegetables:
Red pepper
Carrot
Celery

3. Detox:
Grapefruit
Apple
Ginger

4. Joey’s Favorite:
Orange
Apple
Lemon
Splash of ginger

It turns out that citrus fruits and ginger play an important part in rejuvenating the body. This is why I added a “Joey’s Special,” which is a recipe that is easier to start with since the juice will be on the sweeter side because of the apples and oranges. The lemon and ginger also helps with getting rid of the toxins in your body. I personally cannot tolerate spiciness so I add a minimal amount of ginger (just enough so it tastes a little spicy) juice just for health purposes.

Again, I’d like to reiterate that I did not do a juice-only cleanse. I do encourage people to think about substituting one meal a day with juice because I do believe in the health benefits. This is just something that I believe works (for me) in the long run!

Feel free to contact me if you have been on a juice cleanse and want to share your story!

Happy eating (finally),
Joey Wong ♥

Response to “Juice Cleanse: Review”

  1. Joy

    Lemon & Ginger rocks! I love them in my smoothies & hot tea too…

Leave a comment